Kendal Parish Church Organ
The first recorded organ in Holy Trinity, Kendal, was a Father Smith built in 1702. It was completely replaced in 1877 by a large Father Willis instrument with four manuals, although none of the Solo stops were ever installed. In 1968 the organ was modified, more or less as it remains today, by J W Walker. It was moved to the west end at this time. The last work was in 1987 by Holmes and Swift, when some minor tonal changes were made.

This is an exciting instrument to play, and has the reputation of being the loudest organ in Cumbria! The Walker Positive division does not blend particularly well with the original Willis work, but enhances the overall versatility. The remaining Willis pipes are very pleasing, and the reeds are stunning.

The detached console is located at the back of the north aisle.
    Kendal Parish Church Case    

Specification

Pedal Great
Violone
Sub Bass
Principal
Violincello
Flute Bass
Fifteenth
Lieblich Flute
Bombarde
Fagotto
Posaune
Schalmei
Positive to Pedal
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
Swell Octave to Pedal
16
16
8
8
8
4
4
16
16
8
4
Double Open Diapason
Open Diapason
Principal
Claribel Flute
Stopped Diapason
Octave
Harmonic Flute
Twelfth
Fifteenth
Mixture
Posaune
Clarion
Swell to Great
Swell Octave to Great
Positive to Great
16
8
8
8
8
4
4
2 2/3
2
III
8
4
Swell Positive
Open Diapason
Lieblich Gedeckt
Salicional
Vox Angelica
Gemshorn
Nason Flute
Rohr Nasat
Flageolet
Terz
Scharf
Contra Fagotto
Cornopean
Hautboy
Clarion
Tremulant
Octave
8
8
8
8
4
4
2 2/3
2
1 3/5
III
16
8
8
4
Gedeckt
Viola
Venetian Flute
Nazard
Recorder
Tierce
Larigot
Cremona
Tremulant
Posaune
Clarion
Swell to Choir
8
8
4
2 2/3
2
1 3/5
1 1/3
8

8
4

Kendal Parish Church Console


Back to Organs Page